Deciduous Conifers

Deciduous Conifers

Dawn Redwood

Bald Cypress

Most trees and shrubs fall into one of two categories: deciduous or coniferous. The deciduous trees have leaves that fall off yearly. Coniferous trees bear cones and have needles or scales that do not fall off. Another common name for these conifers is evergreens, although not all evergreens are conifers.

Several species straddle both worlds and are dubbed deciduous conifers. These trees form cones and sprout needles like conifer trees, but they also change colors in the fall and lose their needles every year like deciduous trees.

  • Eastern Larch (Larix)
  • Dawn Redwood (Metasequoia)
  • Bald Cypress (Taxodium)
  • Golden Larch (Pseudolarix)

So, if you have one of these kinds of trees, be reassured that it is normal for them to lose their needles.